Paying submissions

Speculative

Speculative — science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Lengths on this list range from about 500 words to 22,000. 2 currently open of 9 total.

Sort

Filter

pay$.10 per word (including audio rights)
pay whenunknown
windowAugust 24 to September 7
feeunknown
genrespeculative fiction
words750–10,000 words
simultaneousunknown
verified2026-08-31
sourceSource
flagPoetry is separately OPEN August 17 to August 31, $40 per poem, pay_when unknown. Poetry window ends today (31 Aug 2026) and is still open per end-date rule. Not duplicated as a second fiction row. Simultaneous not stated on page.

Visit

pay14¢ per word
pay whenunknown
window"We are currently open for art, non-fiction and short story submissions."
feeunknown
genrescience fiction and fantasy (no horror; dark SF/F permitted)
words1000–22000 words, no exceptions
simultaneousnot permitted
verified2026-08-31
sourceSource
flagunknown

Visit

payUS $.08 per word plus one copy of the print anthology
pay whenupon publication
windownext: September 1–15 (12:00 AM on the 1st through 11:59 PM on the 15th, Pacific Time). Also January 1–15 and May 1–15.
feeunknown
genrehorror, dark fantasy, science fiction
wordsflash 500–1,499 words; short stories 1,500–7,499 words
simultaneousno ("Please do not send simultaneous or multiple submissions.")
verified2026-08-31
sourceSource
flagPage states "We are currently CLOSED to submissions." Not yet open as of 2026-08-31.

Visit

Exoplanet
Closed
payone cent ($0.01 USD) per word for prose ($5 minimum); $10 flat for poetry
pay whenunknown
windowSep 1–Sep 15, 2026; then Jan 1–Jan 15, 2027; May 1–May 15, 2027
feeunknown
genrespeculative fiction (science fiction, fantasy, horror, slipstream, weird, hybrid); also poetry
wordsprose up to 5,000 words
simultaneousacceptable
verified2026-08-31
sourceSource
flagNot yet open as of 2026-08-31; next window starts Sep 1, 2026.

Visit

pay$0.05 per word unpublished; $0.01 per word reprints
pay whenunknown
windowSeptember 1, 2026 12:01 a.m. Pacific Time through September 30 11:59 p.m. Pacific Time
feeunknown
genretraditional horror, sci-fi horror, dark fantasy, the weird
wordsoriginal up to 3,000 words; reprints up to 5,000 words
simultaneousallowed
verified2026-08-31
sourceSource
flagPage states "We are currently CLOSED for submissions." Not yet open as of 2026-08-31.

Visit

pay8–10 cents per word for short fiction; 6 cents per word for serials; 9 cents per word for fact articles; $1 per line for poetry
pay whenon acceptance
windowunknown
feeunknown
genrescience fiction
wordsshort fiction up to approximately 20,000 words; serials 40,000–80,000 words
simultaneousno ("No simultaneous submissions, please.")
verified2026-08-31
sourceSource
flagPage has no open/closed sentence. System downtime note is March 11–13 with no year.

Visit

Apex Magazine
Closed
pay$.08 per word up to 9,000 words; minimum of $50; additional $.01 per word up to 9,000 words if podcasted
pay whenunknown
windowodd months; closed February, April, June, August, October, and December 2026
feeunknown
genrescience fiction, fantasy, and horror
wordsfirm 9,000 words maximum
simultaneousallowed ("Simultaneous submissions are allowed, but we ask you to withdraw as soon as possible if it is accepted elsewhere.")
verified2026-08-31
sourceSource
flagMoksha banner: currently closed. Matching company page https://www.apexbookcompany.com/pages/apex-magazine-submissions also said closed this month and "opens in odd months only." Separate monthly Flash Fiction Contest (theme announced on Patreon) is not this row.

Visit

pay8-10 cents per word for short stories up to 7,500 words, and 8 cents for each word over 7,500; $1 a line for poetry
pay whenunknown
windowunknown
feeunknown
genrescience fiction; also borderline fantasy, slipstream, and surreal fiction; poetry
wordsseldom shorter than 1,000 words or longer than 20,000 words; poetry should not exceed 40 lines
simultaneousno ("we do not accept \"simultaneous submissions\" (stories sent at the same time to a publication other than Asimov's)")
verified2026-08-31
sourceSource
flagPage has no open/closed sentence. It describes an Online Submissions System and does not accept email submissions. Poetry pay is on this same page; not a second row. No sword & sorcery.

Visit

pay$100 per essay
pay whenon acceptance
windowunknown
feeunknown
genrenonfiction essay
wordsunknown
simultaneousunknown
verified2026-08-31
sourceSource
flagPrimary page states fiction OPEN August 24–September 7 and poetry OPEN August 17–August 31. It does not state an essay window. Fiction pay is $.10/word with pay_when unknown — fiction is not this row. Poetry ends 31 Aug 2026 (still open today).

Visit